I MINA BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session AND STATE MAY 2 PAR 3: 15 2 P

Exac Com.

Resolution No. 188

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorie

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of its 84th Anniversary, to congratulate and recognize its Member Anniversary Celebrants, commending its members for their many valuable contributions to the people of Guam.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN

- GUÅHAN: 2
- WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce was established in 1924 3
- with the goal to unite individuals to improve business and build a better 4
- 5 community; and
- WHEREAS, on April 26, 1924 prominent businessmen like Pedro 6
- 7 Martinez, Chester Carl Butler, H.U. Umstad, Baltazar J. Bordallo, William G.
- Johnston, J.M. Gillespie and A.H. White, chartered the Guam Chamber of 8
- 9 Commerce contributing many measures, and economic resources to enhance
- 10 the organization; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has provided business
- 12 people with a venue to cooperate, make our community a better place in
- which to live and work, and also promote the orderly growth and 13

- 1 development of the business community for more than eight decades; and
- 2 **WHEREAS**, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has helped numerous
- 3 small businesses open their doors, prosper and grow, thus fostering the
- 4 growth of our local economy and further serving our people; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce consists of more than
- 6 three hundred forty members and continues to grow every year; and
- 7 **WHEREAS,** twenty-seven (27) member companies of the Guam
- 8 Chamber of Commerce have celebrated or will be celebrating 20 to 70 years of
- 9 servicing Guam; and
- 10 **WHERAS**, the Guam Chamber of Commerce instituted the first Guam
- 11 Business Hall of Fame to honor those Guam businessmen and businesswomen
- whom have demonstrated a strong vision and ability to improve the economic
- 13 growth within our island; and
- WHEREAS, among the first inductees to the Guam Business Hall of
- 15 Fame were the founding members of the Guam Chamber of Commerce, Pedro
- 16 Pangelinan Martinez, Kenneth T. Jones, Jr., Jesus Sablan Leon Guerrero,
- 17 Governor Joseph Flores, and Eduardo Torres Calvo; and
- WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce formed the Armed Forces
- 19 Committee in 1998 to promote Guam as a rest and relaxation destination for
- 20 armed forces in the area and to increase local business opportunities by
- 21 contracting with the military; and
- WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has maintained its
- 23 involvement with and in support of community projects over several years,
- 24 including the Guam Juvenile Drug Court Program, the Summer Youth
- 25 Swimming and Water Safety Program, the annual Christmas Program, and

- 1 the Dave J. Santos Scholarship, beautification projects, and a Guam Police
- 2 Department Partnership; and
- WHEREAS, this year's anniversary of the Guam Chamber of Commerce
- 4 also marks the 57th anniversary of Perez Bros., Inc.; the 47th anniversary of
- 5 Bank of Hawaii; the 42nd anniversary of Xerox Corporation; the 37th
- 6 anniversary of 3M Company, Deloitte & Touche, LLP, DFS Guam, Guam
- 7 Capital Investment Corporation (GCIC), McDonald's Restaurant of Guam,
- 8 Moylan's Insurance Underwriters, Inc.; the 32nd anniversary of Blair Sterling
- 9 Johnson Moody Martinez & Leon Guerrero, P.C., Denson Guam, Personal
- 10 Finance Center and Travel Pacificana; the 27th anniversary of National Office
- 11 Supply, Northwest Airlines; the 22nd anniversary of Alupang Beach Club,
- 12 David DDB, Denight Marketing Group, Gerald Woo + Co., JMI Electrical &
- 13 Air Conditioning, Marianas Credit Bureau, NBK Trading Corporation, Pacific
- 14 Unlimited Inc., PMT Guam Corporation, Quality Distributors, and Sanford
- 15 Technology Group, LLC; now, therefore be it
- RESOLVED, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does
- 17 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, congratulate the Guam Chamber of
- 18 Commerce on the occasion of their 84th Anniversary and does hereby
- 19 commend the hard work, commitment and accomplishments of the Guam
- 20 Chamber of Commerce leadership of its members, who are the driving force
- 21 behind its achievements and for their invaluable contributions to the people of
- 22 Guam; and be it further
- 23 **RESOLVED,** that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the
- 24 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be
- 25 thereafter transmitted to the President of the Guam Chamber of Commerce,

- 1 Reina A. Leddy; to the Executive Committee of the 2008 Guam Chamber of
- 2 Commerce Board of Directors, Chairwoman Laura-Lynn V. Dacanay; Vice
- 3 Chairman Paul L. Blas; Secretary-Treasurer Joe M. Arnett; Special Executive
- 4 Committee Member David J. John; Immediate Past Chairman Steven C.
- 5 Ruder; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'Lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE ______ DAY OF MAY 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES
Senator and
Secretary of the Legislature